The Law School Magazine The New York University School of Law

Notes and Renderings

Honorary Doctorates

Printer Friendly Version

Thomas Nagel

Harvard University granted NYU University Professor Thomas Nagel an honorary doctorate of laws in May. Provost Steven Hyman called Nagel “one of the most influential philosophers of modern times.”

Nagel (left) also holds an honorary doctorate of letters from the University of Oxford and has received many prestigious honors for his work, including the Rolf Schock Prize in Logic and Philosophy, the $885,000 Balzan Prize in Moral Philosophy, the $1.5 million Mellon Foundation Distinguished Achievement Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Last year Nagel’s colleague Ronald Dworkin, Frank Henry Sommer Professor of Law, received an honorary doctorate of laws from Harvard.

David Garland (right), Arthur T. Vanderbilt Professor of Law, accepted an honorary doctorate from the Free University of Brussels in December for his “achievements in the field of law, criminology, and sociology” and “scientific research on an interdisciplinary basis aimed at integrating the fields of criminology, law, sociology, and philosophy.”

All of 2010 Notes and Renderings

2010 Home